Thursday, 29 January 2009

Thursday 29th January 2009

It was very misty this morning, for the first time this year. I can never avoid pictures of trees against a foggy background, they always seem to paint such wonderful patterns.

Wednesday, 28 January 2009

Wednesday 28th January 2009

This, along with yesterday's image, make up a matching pair. Here is Isobel sat in the back of the same rowing boat. Yes, we were young once.

Tuesday 27th January 2009

Back to the sun and back to my youth and back to the archives. This photograph was taken during a holiday in the British Virgin Islands in the early 1980s. Isobel and I stayed on my brothers' boat which was moored in Maya Cove. Each morning I would row to the Tortola shore for breakfast.

Monday, 26 January 2009

Monday 26th January 2009

The amount of rainwater has turned the woodland paths into mudslides. Amy and I walked through the woods this morning and our six legs were quickly coated with thick sticky mud.

Sunday 25th January 2009

Although there hasn't been all that much heavy rain over the last week or two, it has been persistent and therefore the ground is thoroughly waterlogged. Streams appear from nowhere and puddles grow into ponds overnight.

Saturday, 24 January 2009

Saturday 24th January 2009

Wonderful night last night at Chrissy's birthday dinner. This photograph of her was taken at some point during the evening and therefore constitutes her official birthday portrait. Happy birthday Chrissy ... and thanks for a memorable evening.

Friday, 23 January 2009

Friday 23rd January 2009

What kind of photograph provides the best date-stamp? The answer is possibly a photograph of a car park. I took this photograph about 25 years ago. It is a car park somewhere. Where doesn't matter. The cars provide the date-stamp : row after row of 1970s and 80s cars.

Thursday, 22 January 2009

Thursday 22nd January 2009


Scanning old negatives is a form of time travel : seeing an old negative again after 40 years can take you back faster than a Tardis. In some cases you are seeing a photograph for the first time since you rejected it when doing the original printing. Take this picture of Aunty Miriam : I cannot recall ever having seen a print of this before.

Wednesday 21st January 2009

Scanning old negatives again. Not sure where this is - using the shots before and after as a reference it is somewhere near Elland. Could this be the bottom of Gogg Hill?

Tuesday, 20 January 2009

Tuesday 20th January 2009

It started yesterday evening and, although little has fallen, snow has been on the ground all day. The cold has created a crisp skin over the soft white powder.

Monday, 19 January 2009

Monday 19th January 2009

After stuttering and stomping, creaking and crashing for the last fortnight, the new computer finally expired this morning. At some stage it is going to have to go into computer-hospital, but in the meantime I have reactivated - from a cryogenic state - my old Packard Bell. If you are reading this it means it is still functioning!

Sunday 18th January 2009

Each new phase of life seems to have its own milestones and now that Xan is at University the milestone I need to get used to is re-packing his bags ready for a new term. He went back today and this means that from now on the house will be tidy, the kitchen will be clean, the electricity bill will be smaller .... and I will miss him like crazy.

Saturday, 17 January 2009

Saturday 17th January 2009

Tomorrow we take Xan back to Sheffield so it is suitable that today's image comes from my time in Sheffield. It must have been taken in the 1980s and it clearly is Weston Park (the main building of Sheffield University can be seen in the background). From the banners it must have been some kind of religious gathering, possibly a Sunday School Parade. Do such things still take place?

Friday, 16 January 2009

Friday 16th January 2009

There is a Duke Ellington/Russel Procope track called "Swamp Goo". I thought of it this morning as Amy and I walked alongside the Crematorium Swamp and emerged with dry feet and mudless boots. Last year at this time any attempt to walk the Crem Path resulted in your feet being sucked into the spreading bog, but the new boardwalk is a wonder.

Thursday, 15 January 2009

Thursday 15th January 2009

It's a complicated story. Hooks had to be bought and approved by Isobel before they could be installed. Isobel was at work so the picture had to be taken and e-mailed. Like all good plans, it failed .... but the hooks were approved later.

Wednesday 14th January 2009

Archive time. This goes back almost forty years. There are Isobel and Jane, both looking young and happy. Next up the staircase is Jane's mother, Barbara, and finally Issy's mum, Edith. I can still remember taking this picture at Shibden Park.

Tuesday, 13 January 2009

Tuesday 13th January 2009

Now here is a strange thing. This morning I was reading a newspaper article which stated that a follow-up to A A Milne's "House At Pooh Corner" book had been commissioned. Vaguely thinking of this I set off on a walk with Amy. Within a few minutes a flock of birds flew overhead. Now I don't know about you, but to me they seem to be saying something!

Monday, 12 January 2009

Monday 12th January 2009

On Saturday we visited Andy Thornton's Architectural Antiques Mill in West Vale, Halifax. After living within a couple of miles of it for many a year, it was my first visit. Her is a plaster statue of Jesus on the Bargain Rack, reduced to just £450. There is something about faith and credit crunch waiting to be said, but this old atheist can't work out what it is.

Sunday 11th January 2009

Sunday lunch - to be more exact Sunday supper - and the Yorkshire puddings come out of the oven. Can't resist taking a photo of them and e-mailing it to Elaine. That will show her!

Saturday, 10 January 2009

Saturday 10th January 2009

As I write this, Jane and Edwin are on their way up from Oxford - so a pleasant weekend is in store. Here is a photograph of Jane I took some time ago - about thirty-five years ago to be exact.

Friday, 9 January 2009

Friday 9th January 2009

I took this photograph forty or so years ago. It was a garage in Elland which had been constructed largely of old advertising signs. If it still existed - and I assume it doesn't although I haven't checked - it would be a prime source of what are now called "architectural antiques".

Thursday, 8 January 2009

Thursday 8th January 2009

The skyline over Huddersfield taken this morning. Towards the centre is Castle Hill, whereas on the extreme left is the Emley Moor transmitter mast. The background colours hide a mixture of clouds and hills.

Wednesday 7th January 2009

Went to Bradford this evening to take Xan to Ice Hockey practice. The lights in the office blocks made pretty patterns.

Tuesday, 6 January 2009

Tuesday 6th January 2009

Freezing temperatures last night but a wonderfully crisp and clear morning this morning. Jane e-mails to ask if we have had snow. The answer is in the photograph. Taken from the Ainley Top it shows Elland and the Calder Valley.

Monday, 5 January 2009

Monday 5th January 2009

One of those scenes that just asks to be taken. Amy and I walk past the Crematorium Office almost every day but this morning the lighting was such that it appeared majestically different.

Sunday, 4 January 2009

Sunday 4th January 2009

Still going back, but not very far this time. On New Year Eve we had a family party. Here is a picture of Carrie with her grand-daughter Chloe. A good start to 2009.

Saturday, 3 January 2009

Saturday 3rd January 2009

A dark, cold, grey day today and therefore a good time to dip into the archives of scanned photos. This picture of Isobel was taken some twenty-five years ago during a holiday in Greece. I assume it is in Athens, as we were based there and - if I am not mistaken - that is the Acropolis in the background.

Friday, 2 January 2009

Friday 2nd January 2009

Today I went in search of North Street, Keighley and whilst I was there I became re-acquainted with the outside of the Star Hotel which, surprisingly given the last pint I had there, is still open. Indeed, it looks as though it might have undergone a bit of a resurrection, so another visit to the inside is called for.

Thursday, 1 January 2009

Thursday 1st January 2009

We start the year with a picture of one of the splendid lights which grace Brighouse Bridge. Even though the picture was taken in the middle of the day, the freezing fog turned midday into twilight.